Mynydd Du

Fell and Mountain Running Club

The 2016 race was not organised with Mynydd Du, but we are including the report and results here anyway.

The results are approximate and provisional – due to a technical timing hitch (!) – some people have given me their Garmin times which I have put as definite. I am open to change unless we all accept it as a bad job this time. 

Thanks for our merry band of stalwart fell runners who turned up on a misty moisty day and navigated their way safely to the finish on a tougher day than we have had at Llyn y Fan since I took over the race. Well done to all the winners - the sprint at the end was very exciting - the 1st two smashed it – we wondered what they had done to the rest of the field who were away behind! All looked like they had had a bit of a journey up on the summits hidden to us by the clag when they returned – di awn Daniel Hooper and Alice Bedwell 1st man and woman, Joc Dodd (2nd female and 1st woman over 60), Andy Stott (1st man over 50).

Thanks especially to Tom, my other and some may say, better half (and the dog) who marshalled on Fan Foel in the cloud.

Special thanks to Gill Stott who used her photo times to help me with the timing issues – I owe you a dram or two. Gill also took some great photos which you will find on Facebook. Diolch yn fawr Gill.

Next year Llyn y Fan will be the end of the series and WFRA AGM with a knees up in Llandeusant Village hall (food and bar) after the race – please put in your diary SATURDAY 11TH NOVEMBER 2017. It will be a new route – starting in the car park up the Beacons way to join the path up past the lake – getting rid of the track and making this race pure fell terrain. There may be further changes and I will be putting this on (thanks Paul Dodd for setting up the race site for me) and the WFRA website, so watch this space. As it will be a new race route the records will be up for grabs.I will also leave some navigation variables to you runners as I allowed today!!

Sasha Habgood


Pos Name Club Cat Time
1 Daniel Hooper Sarn Helen  1st Man (o40) 00:50:19
2 Sam Gregory n/a  2nd Man (u40) 00:50:21
3 Andy Creber Chepstow Harriers  3rd Man (o50) 00:57:40
4 Andy Stott MDC  (1st o50) 00:58:00
5 Tom Mollekin  Mynydd Du   00:59:00
6 Mark Saunders MDC  (o50) 00:59:58
7 James Woodier Mynydd Du  (u40) 01:01:18
8 Alice Bedwell MDC  (1st Female and o50) 01:04:36
9 Andrew Dickens Mynydd Du  ( o40) 01:08:08
10 Anthony Howells n/a  (o50) 01:09:40
11 Matthew Whittacker  n/a  (u40) 01:10:12
12 Joc Dodd Chepstow Harriers  (2nd Female and 1st o60) 01:10:43
13 Paul Symmons   n/a ( o50) 01:20:00
  Alan Stone     DNF
  Tom Garrod     DNF